Journalists qualify for state in visual, writing contests

On March 9, the Hays High School journalism students received results from their Kansas Scholastic Press Association (KSPA) regional writing and visual contests. The results are as follows:

First Place:

Eleanor Bittel – Editorial Cartoon

Justin Houchen – Headline Writing

Eric Lucio – Digital Illustration

Eric Lucio – Sports Writing

Eric Lucio – Video News

Arely Maldonado – Yearbook Copywriting

Arely Maldonado & Ava Schoenberger – Yearbook Theme & Graphics

Ava Schoenberger – Academics Photo

Ava Schoenberger – Yearbook Sports Writing

Meg Taggart – Editorial Writing

Meg Taggart – News Writing

Andrea Zarate – Social Media

Second Place:

Chloe Adkins – Digital Illustration

Chloe Adkins – Infographic Design

Rylee Burd – Sports Feature Photography

Rylee Burd – Yearbook Copywriting

Rylee Burd – Yearbook Design

Eric Lucio – Review Writing

Maddie Meis – Copyediting

Meg Taggart & Jacob Wente – Video News

Meg Taggart & Jacob Wente – Video PSA

Third Place:

Abby Boyer – Cutline (Caption) Writing

Feyden Hileman – Headline Writing

Emmaline Leuschner, Maddie Meis, Haley Roth, Katelyn Willemsen – Multimedia Storytelling

Eric Lucio – Video Sports Promo

Maddie Meis – Review Writing

Andrea Tinoco-Ramirez – Advertising Design

Fourth Place:

Caira Augustine, Jaynie Brooks, Maycie Holdeman, Marisa Wasinger – Multimedia Storytelling

Maggi Lindenmeyer – Student Life Photography

Corey Musil – Sports Writing

Ciara Schmidt – Cutline (Caption) Writing

Kaylee Sustaita – Advertising Design

Meg Taggart – News Page Design

Jacob Wente – Video Sports Promo

Sixth Place:

Arely Maldonado – Copyediting

Madighan Norris – Editorial Writing

Kale Schwien – Sports Writing

All those listed above qualified for the KSPA state competition, for which entries are due on April 12 for writing and April 19 for visual and results will be announced on Saturday, May 5.