2021-2022 National Honor Society induction ceremony occurs in Gym A


Amedee Randle

Together, the inductees recite the NHS pledge, and each signed the NHS book and received a certificate and pin.

The Hays High School June Reynolds Chapter of National Honor Society hosted its 2021-2022 induction ceremony on Tuesday, Nov. 9.

Senior NHS president Grace McCord welcomed everyone and introduced the guest speaker, Christopher Jochum, a professor and the chair of Department of Teacher Education at Fort Hays State University.

After the guest speaker, the NHS officers explained and lit four candles representing fundamental virtues of NHS.

“NHS is an organization focused on scholarship, service, leadership and character,” McCord said.

The new members of NHS include the following:


Elizabeth Clingan

Ashlynn Flax

McKenzie Flax

Kiersten Goertzen

Lainey Hardman

Liahna Hyatt

Connor Jacobs

Leah Legleiter

Kamree Leiker

Aaliyah Neuburger

Mogan Shorb

Tyler Solida

McKinley Wamser

Cassidy Wilkie


Cade Becker

Ashton Bickle

Lily Biggs

Noah Bruggeman

Blake Buckles

Rylee Burd

Harlee Dannar

Katie Dinkel

Elle Dreiling

Hannah Eikenberry

Morgan Engel

Rylie Fairbank

Keiarra Gonzales

Mackenzie Hagerman

Avery Harmoney

Claire Humphrey

Amelia Jaeger

Devlyn Jochum

Nia Kaiser

Riley Kershner

Maggi Lindenmeyer

Halle Lohmeyer

Quinton McGuire

Aspen Melvin

Diego Muller

Jordin Myers

Carter Normandin

Mason Norris

Kaley Rajewski

Danica Scheve

Rilee Schwarz

Meg Taggart

Grayson Walburn

Tanner Werth

Chase Wittman

Ashlynn Zimmer

Peyton Zimmerman

Sarah Zimmerman

“Being surrounded by students that have the same goals pushes you to be better,” McCord said. “I encourage students who want to cultivate each of these skills to apply to National Honor Society.”

The next NHS event will be the Holiday Help Project in December. More details will be announced later.

“The Holid has the ability to impact many students in our district and their families,” McCord said. “I am looking forward to helping families in need in that are in our community.”