2018-2019 Indian Call yearbook wins Kansas Scholastic Press Association’s All-Kansas Award


The 2019-2020 Indian Call staff poses for a picture. The staff pictured above along with adviser Bill Gasper worked on the edition of the Indian Call which has now been given the title of All-Kansas Yearbook.

The Indian Call yearbook from 2018-2019 recently won the Kansas Scholastic Press Association’s All-Kansas award.

It earned All-Kansas ratings in four out of the five judged areas.

“When the judges critique all the yearbooks, they get judged in five different categories,” senior Emma Pfannenstiel said. “To receive All-Kansas, yearbooks have to receive All-Kansas in either four out of five categories or five out of five categories.”

The members involved in the publication are listed below.

Adviser: Bill Gasper

Editor-in-Chief: alumni Emily George

Assistant Editors: alumni Hannah Harman and alumni Jacie Robinson

Staff: alumni Kaitlyn Brown, junior Grace Desbien, junior Erica Malleck, alumni Jacob Maska, senior Grace Moroni, senior Emma Pfannenstiel, alumni Lindsey Pfannenstiel, senior Savannah Pfeifer, alumni Brooke Pflaum, senior Cassidy Prough, junior Kamryn Schoenberger, junior Hope Schumacher, senior Shannon Smith, alumni Alyssa Underwood and junior Fernando Zarate.

“I’m really proud of everyone who was in the Indian Call staff last year,” Pfannenstiel said. “Emily was a really good editor, and she got what she deserved.”

Pfannenstiel said she hopes the yearbook this year receives All-Kansas, as well.

“Being editor-in-chief this year, it’d be really disappointing if we didn’t win All-Kansas this year, so I’m really trying my best to make the yearbook the best it can be,” Pfannenstiel said.