Homecoming Candidates Announced


Paige Polifka-Denson

The 2019 Homecoming Candidates, the winners will be named on Sept. 27.

The senior class voted on five girls and five boys to represent them for this year’s Homecoming court. The winners will be crowned at halftime at the Homecoming football game on Sept. 27 at 7 p.m.

Girls: Avery Jones, Maddie Lohmeyer, Yesenia Maldonado, Cassidy Prough and Madelyn Waddell

Boys: Carson Ackerman, Derrick Aragon, Ben Boland, Tommy Brooks and Nathan Erbert

The candidates all felt the same way, excited that they were nominated and surprised that their classmates thought so highly of them.

Prough said she is most excited about being a Homecoming candidate because her dad was crowned as the Homecoming king 30 years ago.

“I feel surprised, but honored at the same time, that my classmates think highly enough of me to nominate me as a Homecoming candidate,” Prough said.

Ackerman said he is most excited about being nominated with some of his best friends.

“When I heard my name announced, I felt very excited, but I was also humbled that my peers voted for me,” Ackerman said.

Waddell said that she is most excited for the assembly games that she gets to participate in with her partner and the  experiences that come with being nominated.

“I was very surprised but very thankful that my peers thought to vote for me,” Waddell said.